Featured Post

Monday, July 24, 2017

Roman-rite bishops belonging to the Maronite line

In the past four years, there have been several changes to the list of Roman-rite bishops who are members of the Maronite line.  Bishop Vincent Valentine Ezeonyia, C.S.Sp., of Aba, Nigeria, died in 2015.  Three new bishops – two in the Caribbean and one in Nigeria – have been ordained: Bishop Robert Anthony Llanos, Auxiliary of Port of Spain (2013), Bishop Gerard Maximin County, C.S.Sp., of Kingstown (2016), and Bishop Donatus Edet Akpan of Ogoja (2017). At present, there are thirteen Roman-rite bishops who belong to the Maronite line.  They are:

*Kelvin Edward Felix, Cardinal and Archbishop emeritus of Castries
*Edward Joseph Gilbert, C.Ss.R., Archbishop emeritus of Port of Spain
*Patrick Christopher Punder, Archbishop of Nassau
*Joseph Everard Harris, C.S.Sp., Archbishop of Port of Spain
*Gabriel Malzaire, Bishop of Roseau
*Francis Dean Alleyne, O.S.B., Bishop of Georgetown
*Charles Jason Gordon, Bishop of Bridgetown
*Ernest Mesmin Lucien Cabo, Bishop emeritus of Basse Terre et Pointe-à-Pitre
*Robert Anthony Llanos, Titular Bishop of Casae nigrae, Auxiliary of Port of Spain
*Gerard Maximin County, C.S.Sp., Bishop of Kingstown
*Joseph Effiong Ekuwem, Archbishop of Calabar
*Lucius Iwejuru Ugorji, Bishop of Umuahia
*Donatus Edet Akpan, Bishop of Ogoja