Featured Post

Saturday, October 24, 2020


The d’Estouteville line grows smaller


Archbishop Paul Zinghtung Grawng, Archbishop emeritus of Mandalay, died on 24 October 2020 at Mandalay, Myanmar. May he rest in peace.

 His death reduces the number of living members of the d’Estouteville line to 43. Here is the updated list.

Antony Ananadarayar, Archbishop of Pondicherry and Cuddalore
Maria Callist Soosa Packiam, Archbishop of Trivandrum of the Latins
Francis Kallarakal, Archbishop emeritus of Verapoly
Malayappan Chinnappa, S.D.B., Archbishop emeritus of Madras and Mylapore
Vincent Louis Marie Landel, S.C.J. de Beth., Archbishop emeritus of Rabat
Joseph Luechai Thatwisai, Bishop of Udon Thani, Thailand
Philip Banchong Chaiyara, C.Ss.R., Bishop of Ubon Ratchathani, Thailand
Sebastian Thekethecheril, Bishop of Vijayapuram
Selvister Ponnumuthan, Bishop of Punalur
Christudas Rajappan, Titular Bishop of Avitta Bibba, Auxiliary of Trivandrum of the Latins
Mathew Cheriannkunnel, P.I.M.E., Bishop emeritus of Kurnool
Innayya Chinna Addagatla, Bishop emeritus of Srikakulam
Paul Maipan, Bishop of Khammam
Singaroyan Sebastianappan, Bishop emeritus of Salem
Peter Remigius, Bishop emeritus of Kottar
Jerome Das Varuvel, S.D.B., Bishop emeritus of Kuzhithurai
Amalraj Arulappan, Bishop of Ootacamund
Antonysamy Francis, Bishop of Kumbakonam
Devadoss Ambrose Mariadoss, Bishop of Tanjore
Nazarene Soosai, Bishop of Kottar

*Laurent Ulrich, Archbishop of Lille
*Yves Boivineau, Bishop of Annecy
*Alain Planet, Bishop of Carcassonne et Narbonne
*Philippe Christory, Bishop of Chartres
*Michel Pansard, Bishop of Evry-Corbeil-Essonnes
*François Jacolin, M.D.P., Bishop of Luçon
*Jean-Christophe Lagleize, Bishop of Metz
*Jean-Marie Le Vert, Titular Bishop of Briançonnet and Auxiliary of Bordeaux
*Antoine Henry Pierre Marie Hérouard, Titular Bishop of Maillezais and Auxiliary of Lille
*Jean-Paul Vuillemin, Titular Bishop of Thérouanne and Auxiliary of Metz
*Armand Maillard, Archbishop emeritus of Bourges
*Hubert Barbier, Archbishop emeritus of Bourges
*Guy Thomazeau, Archbishop emeritus of Montpellier
*Bernard Aubertin, O.Cist., Archbishop emeritus of Tours
*Gilbert Louis, Bishop emeritus of Châlons
*Bernard Housset, Bishop emeritus of La Rochelle
*Jean-Charles Thomas, Bishop emeritus of Versailles
*Gérard Coliche, Titular Bishop of Alet and former Auxiliary of Lille
*Claude-Joseph Azéma, Titular Bishop of Murcona and former Auxiliary of Montpellier
*Alphonse Georger, Bishop emeritus of Oran

**Raphaël Dabiré Kusiélé, Bishop of Diébougou
**Paul Eusebius Mea Kaiuea, M.S.C., Bishop emeritus of Tarawa
**Jean Baptiste Kpiéle Somé, Bishop emeritus of Diébougou

The bishops with an * are the original d'Estouteville group plus additions to their number since the combination of other lineages.  The bishops with ** are those who were previously known as the Ravizza line.