Featured Post

Wednesday, January 10, 2024


UPDATES to the von BODMAN and d’ESTOUTEVILLE LINES (10 January 2024)

The von Bodman line has decreased in size due to the death of one of its members. Bishop Anton Pain Ratu, S.V.D., Bishop emeritus of Atambua, Indonesia, the most senior member of the von Bodman line by date of episcopal ordination, died on 6 January 2024 at Atambua. May he rest in peace.

With his death, there are eight living members of the von Bodman line. They are:

1.      Gerulfus Kherubim Pareira, S.V.D., Bishop emeritus of Maumere

2.      Patrick Hoogmartens, Bishop of Hasselt

3.      Franciscus Kopong Kung, Bishop of Larantuka

4.      Aloysius Murwito, O.F.M., Bishop of Agats

5.      Nicolaus Adi Seputra, M.S.C., Archbishop emeritus of Merauke

6.      Dominikus Saku, Bishop of Atambua

7.      Edmund Woga, C.Ss.R., Bishop of Weetebula

8.      Ewaldus Martinus Sedu, Bishop of Maumerre

Since the previous post regarding the d’Estouteville line on 15 October 2023, several changes to the line occurred or will occur shortly.

On 17 November 2023, Fr. Emmanuel Michel François Tois was ordained TItular Bishop of Vertara and Auxiliary Bishop of Paris by Archbishop Laurent Bernard Marie Ulrich of Paris, assisted by Bishop Jean Yves André Michel Nahmias of Meaux and Bishop Philippe André Yves Marsset, Titular Bishop of Thibica and Auxiliary Bishop of Paris. His episcopal ordination took place at Paris, in the Church of Saint-Sulpice. With his episcopal ordination, the number of living members of the d’Estouteville line increased to forty.

On 2 December 2023, Pope Francis accepted the resignation from the pastoral government of the Diocese of Ubon Ratchathani presented by Bishop Philip Banchong Chaiyara, C.Ss.R.

On 24 February 2024, God willing, Fr. Stephen Boonlert Phromsena will be ordained Bishop of Ubon Ratchathani in the Cathedral at Ubon Ratchathani by Bishop Philip Banchong Chaiyara, C.Ss.R., Bishop emeritus of Ubon Ratchathani. The co-consecrators are scheduled to be Bishop Joseph Chusak Sirisut of Nakhon Ratchasima and Archbishop Anthony Weradet Chaiseri of Thare and Nonseng. With this episcopal ordination, the number of living members of the d’Estouteville line will increase to forty one.

On 24 February 2024, barring any intervening changes, the living members of the d’Estouteville line will be:

Thomas Jessayan Netto, Archbishop of Trivandrum of the Latins

Maria Callist Soosa Packiam, Archbishop emeritus of Trivandrum of the Latins

Malayappan Chinnappa, S.D.B., Archbishop emeritus of Madras and Mylapore

Francis Kallarakal, Archbishop emeritus of Verapoly

Sebastian Thekethecheril, Bishop of Vijayapuram

Selvister Ponnumuthan, Bishop of Punalur

Amalraj Arulappan, Bishop of Ootacamund

Antonysamy Francis, Bishop of Kumbakonam

Nazarene Soosai, Bishop of Kottar

Christudas Rajappan, Titular Bishop of Avitta Bibba, Auxiliary of Trivandrum of the Latins

Paul Maipan, Bishop emeritus of Khammam

Singaroyan Sebastianappan, Bishop emeritus of Salem

Peter Remigius, Bishop emeritus of Kottar

Jerome Das Varuvel, S.D.B., Bishop emeritus of Kuzhithurai

Devadoss Ambrose Mariadoss, Bishop emeritus of Tanjore

Vincent Louis Marie Landel, S.C.J. de Beth., Archbishop emeritus of Rabat

Joseph Luechai Thatwisai, Bishop of Udon Thani, Thailand

Philip Banchong Chaiyara, C.Ss.R., Bishop emeritus of Ubon Ratchathani, Thailand

Stephen Boonlert Phromsena, Bishop of Ubon Ratchathani (as of 24 February 2024)


 *Laurent Ulrich, Archbishop of Paris

*Antoine Henry Pierre Marie Hérouard, Archbishop of Dijon

*Armand Maillard, Archbishop emeritus of Bourges

*Hubert Barbier, Archbishop emeritus of Bourges

*Guy Thomazeau, Archbishop emeritus of Montpellier

*Bernard Aubertin, O.Cist., Archbishop emeritus of Tours

*Philippe Christory, Bishop of Chartres

*Michel Pansard, Bishop of Evry-Corbeil-Essonnes

*François Jacolin, M.D.P., Bishop of Luçon

*Jean-Paul Vuillemin, Bishop of Le Mans

*Roberto Fornaciari, O.S.B.Cam., Bishop of Tempio-Ampurias

*Jean-Marie Le Vert, Titular Bishop of Briançonnet and Auxiliary of Bordeaux

*Emmanuel Michel François Tois, Titular Bishop of Vertara and Auxiliary of Paris

*Yves Boivineau, Bishop emeritus of Annecy

*Alain Planet, Bishop emeritus of Carcassonne et Narbonne

*Jean-Christophe Lagleize, Bishop emeritus of Metz

*Gilbert Louis, Bishop emeritus of Châlons

*Bernard Housset, Bishop emeritus of La Rochelle

*Gérard Coliche, Titular Bishop of Alet and former Auxiliary of Lille

*Alphonse Georger, Bishop emeritus of Oran


 **Raphaël Dabiré Kusiélé, Bishop of Diébougou

**Jean Baptiste Kpiéle Somé, Bishop emeritus of Diébougou