Featured Post

Thursday, February 17, 2022


 As of 17 February 2022, the more than 5,400 living Catholic bishops owe their appointments to one  of six popes:

            Pope St. John XXIII

            Pope St. Paul VI

            Pope John Paul (soon to be beatified)

            Pope Saint John Paul II

            Pope Benedict XVI (now emeritus)

            Pope Francis

 The pontificates of Pope St. John XXIII and Pope John Paul each have only one living bishop.

 The last surviving bishop from the pontificate of Pope St. John XXIII is Bishop José de Jesús Sahagún de la Parra, Bishop emeritus of Ciudad Lázaro Cárdenas, Mexico. He celebrated his 100th birthday on 1 January 2022.

 Bishop Frantz Colimon, S.M.M., Bishop emeritus of Port-de-Paix, Haiti, and the last surviving bishop from the pontificate of Pope John Paul, celebrated his 87th birthday on 10 July 2021. 


With the death of Bishop Rémi Joseph De Roo, emeritus of Victoria, Canada, on 1 February 2022, there are only nine living council fathers of the Second Vatican Council (1962- 1965).

Bishop Laurent Noël, emeritus of Trois-Rivières, Canada; Bishop Luigi Bettazzi, emeritus of Ivrea, Italy; and Archbishop Victorinus Kong-hi Youn, emeritus of Kwangju, South Korea, attended sessions two, three, and four.

Bishop José de Jesús Sahagún de la Parra, emeritus of Ciudad Lázaro Cárdenas, Mexico, attended sessions one, two, and four.

Bishop Gérard-Joseph Deschamps, S.M.M., emeritus of Bereina, Papua New Guinea, attended sessions two and four.

Archbishop Alphonse Mathias, emeritus of Bangalore, India, attended sessions three and four.

 Cardinal Francis Arinze, former Prefect of the Congregation for Divine Worship & the Discipline of the Sacraments; Archbishop Gabino Díaz Merchán, emeritus of Oviedo, Spain; and Bishop Daniel Alphonse Omer Verstraete, O.M.I., emeritus of Klerksdorp, South Africa, attended session four. 


On 2nd February 2022, Pope Francis accepted the resignation from the pastoral government of the Archdiocese of Trivandrum of the Latins presented by Archbishop Maria Callist Soosa Pakiam. The Holy Father appointed Father Thomas Jessayyan Netto to be the new Metropolitan Archbishop of that see.

Archbishop-elect Netto is scheduled to receive episcopal ordination on 19 March 2022 with Archbishop Soosa Pakiam as the principal ordaining bishop. Barring any changes to the schedule, the new archbishop will become the newest member of the d’Estouteville line.

Ad Multos Annos !

Once Archbishop-elect Netto has received episcopal ordination, the d’Estouteville line will be composed of 41 living members, as noted below.

Thomas Jessayan Netto, Archbishop of Trivandrum of the Latins

Maria Callist Soosa Packiam, Archbishop emeritus of Trivandrum of the Latins

Francis Kallarakal, Archbishop emeritus of Verapoly

Malayappan Chinnappa, S.D.B., Archbishop emeritus of Madras and Mylapore

Vincent Louis Marie Landel, S.C.J. de Beth., Archbishop emeritus of Rabat

Joseph Luechai Thatwisai, Bishop of Udon Thani, Thailand

Philip Banchong Chaiyara, C.Ss.R., Bishop of Ubon Ratchathani, Thailand

Sebastian Thekethecheril, Bishop of Vijayapuram

Selvister Ponnumuthan, Bishop of Punalur

Christudas Rajappan, Titular Bishop of Avitta Bibba, Auxiliary of Trivandrum of the Latins

Mathew Cheriannkunnel, P.I.M.E., Bishop emeritus of Kurnool

Innayya Chinna Addagatla, Bishop emeritus of Srikakulam

Paul Maipan, Bishop of Khammam

Singaroyan Sebastianappan, Bishop emeritus of Salem

Peter Remigius, Bishop emeritus of Kottar

Jerome Das Varuvel, S.D.B., Bishop emeritus of Kuzhithurai

Amalraj Arulappan, Bishop of Ootacamund

Antonysamy Francis, Bishop of Kumbakonam

Devadoss Ambrose Mariadoss, Bishop of Tanjore

Nazarene Soosai, Bishop of Kottar

 *Laurent Ulrich, Archbishop of Lille

*Antoine Henry Pierre Marie Hérouard, Archbishop of Dijon

*Yves Boivineau, Bishop of Annecy

*Alain Planet, Bishop of Carcassonne et Narbonne

*Philippe Christory, Bishop of Chartres

*Michel Pansard, Bishop of Evry-Corbeil-Essonnes

*François Jacolin, M.D.P., Bishop of Luçon

*Jean-Christophe Lagleize, Bishop emeritus of Metz

*Jean-Marie Le Vert, Titular Bishop of Briançonnet and Auxiliary of Bordeaux

*Jean-Paul Vuillemin, Titular Bishop of Thérouanne and Auxiliary of Metz

*Armand Maillard, Archbishop emeritus of Bourges

*Hubert Barbier, Archbishop emeritus of Bourges

*Guy Thomazeau, Archbishop emeritus of Montpellier

*Bernard Aubertin, O.Cist., Archbishop emeritus of Tours

*Gilbert Louis, Bishop emeritus of Châlons

*Bernard Housset, Bishop emeritus of La Rochelle

*Jean-Charles Thomas, Bishop emeritus of Versailles

*Gérard Coliche, Titular Bishop of Alet and former Auxiliary of Lille

*Alphonse Georger, Bishop emeritus of Oran

 **Raphaël Dabiré Kusiélé, Bishop of Diébougou

**Jean Baptiste Kpiéle Somé, Bishop emeritus of Diébougou

 The bishops with an * are the original d'Estouteville group plus additions to their number since the combination of other lineages.  The two bishops with ** are those who were previously known as the Ravizza line.